Custom Parcel and LTL Carrier Implementations

For the past year and a half I’ve been primarily responsible for implementations of our Parcel product having been focused solely on our WMS product before that. At the end of 2010, I was promoted to a manager and gained nearly a dozen software engineers that I would start training to implement our Parcel product. It’s been a rocky road thus far, but I’m making progress and learning a lot every day (both about our products and how to be an effective manager).

The focus of my team has expanded to include our TMS product as well. We are just getting into LTL carriers currently, but it’s just a matter of time before we’ll be dealing with full truckload carriers as well. This is exciting given I believe we’ll be the first team within Consulting Services to have experience across our WMS, TMS, and Parcel products. In the past you were either a WMS or TMS engineer where Parcel was a secondary focus for a select few WMS engineers.

We are also beginning to build more and more custom Parcel carriers. These are carriers (or variants thereof) that we currently don’t support natively. The specifications from carrier to carrier vary drastically and these can be major efforts with grueling certification phases. I love this work and feel invigorated. This work allows me to do what I love: design and develop complex systems. I get to architect a solution and in some scenarios write the logic required to implement it. In the future, I’ll be handing off my approved design to the members of my team and mentoring them all along the way.

About this entry